Time for a Change

Greetings from Nebraska! Wow this summer has absolutely flown by. As I’m typing this, the current temp is 73 degrees. And this is midday in August! This is unheard of weather for Nebraska.  I wonder what fall and winter will bring us…….

Speaking of the weather, it certainly was a challenge this summer. Getting hay swathed, raked, baled and moved off the field was a big chore between the much needed rains. Every cutting has presented its own challenges. We are very thankful for the rain. The cows are up to their bellies in grass, and its the middle of August. That never happens!

Other than putting up hay, the other big project over the past year has been building a small feedyard. It has been a long road, but we are finally about ready to fill it with cattle. We’ve been working on it for over a year. It will be a day of rejoicing and taking a deep breath when it is finally filled with cattle.

The biggest news I have from my busy summer is taking a chance and making a career change. In late May, an amazing opportunity was presented to me. After a lot of thinking I decided to take a chance. I accepted the regional sales manager position for Turnkey Computer Systems, based out of Amarillo. My main focus is with feedyard accounting software. It has definitely been a challenge learning the software programs, but it is something I have a great deal of passion for. I also have a great team to work with.

I look forward to where this new adventure is leading me.

I am also 3/4 of the way through the two years my King Ranch Institute leadership program. I have learned a lot from the program, and definitely can thank National Cattlemens Beef Association and the KRIRM for helping build my leadership skills. Last February at the NCBA Convention I began serving on the NCBA Cattle Health and Well Being policy committee. This is a huge step in my leadership path.

With the busy summer months coming to an end, it means the Nebraska State Fair is quickly approaching. I will be showing Felix two days at the fair. I am looking forward to it. I also am a “Pit Boss” for Nebraska Cattlemens Beef Pit. I am one of about 20 volunteers who help run the restaurant during the fair, promoting delicious Certified Angus Beef. We serve nearly 25,000 sandwiches during the fair. It is a busy time, but well worth it. Year after year we receive so many compliments we are the best place to eat during the fair.

If you are able to visit the Nebraska State Fair, be sure to stop by the Beef Pit!

The bunkline of feedyard

The bunkline of feedyard

We hung pipe on hedgeposts for the lot fencing

We hung pipe on hedgeposts for the lot fencing

Checking cows. They enjoy their ponds for a refreshing swim :)

Checking cows. They enjoy their ponds for a refreshing swim 🙂

My little buddy loves feeding the cows cake

My little buddy loves feeding the cows cake

File Aug 20, 9 05 24 AM

He loves riding!

He loves riding!

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time for a Change

  1. Seasonsgirl says:

    You son is such a cutie 🙂 I love hay season… its such a pretty site to see the bails or rounds all in the field after the hard work of bailing 🙂
    Congrats on your new job… it sounds great and good luck at the state fair 🙂 Have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

