Honor, Leadership and Building Relationships

20140816-105901.jpg

This week I was able to attend the John B. Armstrong Lectureship on Systems Thinking at the King Ranch Institute of Ranch Management in Kingsville, TX. I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect from the lectureship, but after attending it I have an incredible new approach to solving problems.

The Systems Thinking approach to solving problems really makes you sit back and admire the question at hand. I believe we as an instant gratification society get so caught up in wanting the fast answer, that we forget to look at the underlying issues causing the problem. If we look ahead to the long term, and solve those underlying issues, then the problem will be much easier to solve.

Throughout the week I wondered several times how this all tied together with leadership. If leadership is the ability to get others to follow your lead throughout a lifetime, you have to be able to successfully manage them and have them come together at solving problems. The systems thinking approach is dynamic at doing this. Rather than focusing on the solution, let’s branch out and as a group focus on the underlying issues causing the problem.

I attended the lectureship as a participant in the KRIRM and NCBA beef leaders program. I am honored to be one of the 18 selected for this program. It has been an amazing experience and I am looking forward to applying what I have learned this week at home, my job at Aurora Coop and with our Cattlemen’s Association.

We were able to have a private group tour of the King Ranch. The highlight of the week was definitely having supper at the pool house at the ranch. The history of the place absolutely amazes me!!

20140816-105810.jpg

20140816-105841.jpg

20140816-105924.jpg

20140816-110213.jpg

20140816-110237.jpg

20140816-110441.jpg

20140816-110508.jpg

20140816-111219.jpg

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

