All About Beef!

5

Last weekend I had the amazing experience of running in the 37th Annual Lincoln National Guard Half Marathon. The sign up for the race opens on New Years Day and reaches the maximum 13,000 runners in a few hours. This was the first time I ran in the race and have never ran with so many other runners. Earlier this year, I also made the decision to run with TEAM BEEF, sponsored by the Beef Council. We participate in several informative meetings and in return proudly run with a TEAM BEEF jersey during the race.

Team Beef pre-race picture in Cook Pavillion

Team Beef pre-race picture in Cook Pavillion

The whole atmosphere in Lincoln on that first Sunday in May was true excitement. It was like a Husker game in May. The streets were lined with folks cheering, passing out water and gatorade throughout the course and even bands keeping everyone entertained. The final two mile march up 10th Street to Memorial Stadium was an amazing experience. I was so excited to finish the 13.1 miles on the 50 yard line inside the stadium!

This was my second half marathon. I had a goal of finishing at 2 hours and beat that goal by 3 minutes. I was absolutely stoked!

It was an emotional finish for me. As many of you know, my mom passed away unexpectedly in February. As I entered the stadium, I felt the wind pick up and I had a sudden burst of energy that carried me at a sprint to the finish line. After I finished, I fell to my knees with my emotions overcoming me. I really felt my Mom inside the stadium as she has been so many times before with us on Husker games!

My sister in law, Neile, and I proudly displaying our medals after finishing

My sister in law, Neile, and I proudly displaying our medals after finishing

I contribute part of my finish with my healthy diet that includes plenty of fruits and vegetables, whole grains and of course BEEF! With a busy schedule that includes a full time job, a toddler, helping Troy with cows, running and all my other hobbies, I needed plenty of healthy foods to fuel my body. Everyday I balanced my diet with beef.

Research shows that beef is a vital source of protein, iron and many other important nutrients that sustain a healthy diet. In fact, calorie-for-calorie it is one of the most nutrient-rich foods to fuel an active and healthy lifestyle. Here are some interesting facts on the healthy benefits of beef:
1.There are more than 29 cuts of beef that meet government guidelines for lean, including consumer favorites like Tenderloin, T-Bone and 95% lean Ground Beef.
2.USDA defines “lean” as less than 10 grams of total fat per 3-ounce serving.
3.Lean cuts of beef have 4.5 grams or less of saturated fat and less than 95 milligrams of cholesterol (per 3-ounce serving).
4.Additionally, 20 of the 29 lean beef cuts have, on average, only 1 more gram of saturated fat than a skinless chicken breast per 3-ounce serving. Discover which cuts of meat are certified lean.
5.Beef is a naturally nutrient-rich food, helping you get more nutrition from the calories you take in.
6.Beef has 8 times more vitamin B12, 6 times more zinc and 2.5 times more iron than a skinless chicken breast.
7.A 3-ounce serving of lean beef contributes less than 10% of the calories in a 2,000-calorie-a-day diet.
8.A substantial body of evidence shows protein can help in maintaining a healthy weight, building muscle and fueling physical activity — all of which play an important role in a healthful lifestyle and disease prevention.
9.The cut of beef with the lowest amount of calories, saturated fat and total fat is the eye round roast and steak, with only 144 calories, 1.4 grams of saturated fat and 4 total grams of fat in a 3-ounce serving.

The above data is courtesy of beefnutrition.org

Beef really is natures perfect multivitamin!

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All About Beef!

  1. Seasonsgirl says:

    You go girl… this is awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

