For My Mom

Mom and Zane

Mom and Zane

102

Mom and her most favorite horse, Newt

At Zane's baptism

At Zane’s baptism

It’s with a heavy heart that I write this. Finding the motivation to write this blog was hard, but I’m ready to do it.

Three short weeks ago, Troy and I were in Nashville at the Cattle Industry Convention. We were having a great time with colleagues and friends. We were home two short hours when I answered the phone call we all dread. It was my brother and he didn’t have good news. Mom was headed to the emergency room via ambulance and things weren’t looking good.

My brother is a former member of the local Fire and Rescue department. When he was a senior in high school, there was a devastating house fire that destroyed a lot of our home, however there was no loss of life. My brother thinks highly of his friends on the squad and all they have done for us over the years. It was comforting knowing Mom was in good hands, but there was very little they could do.

Mom was out feeding her horses on a very cold Wednesday evening and she experienced a suddenly cardiac arrest as she was finishing up her feeding routine. She passed away in the barn she loved so much, with her two favorite mares, Crafty and Jill, not far away.

Our family has no history of heart disease and at her and Dad’s physicals last fall her blood pressure and cholesterol were great. Live life to the fullest because you never know when it’s your turn. Mom did exactly that – she loved life, her family and friends and of course all her many animals.

It’s been three weeks since I talked to her last – about a half hour before she went out to chore. I think about her constantly – rewinding our last few conversations and everything we had to visit about.

I talked to her everyday, sometimes two, three or four times a day. She was always wondering what Zane was doing. She loved her grandson so very, very much.

We had so many plans for the spring and summer, horse shows and family gatherings. Mom loved her family and she shared family news where ever she went.

She loved coming out to visit Troy and I, and she had a great passion for learning as much as she could about the cattle. Since we had Zane, she doted on him and always was bringing him new toys. She wanted to know about the bulls, cows and heifers. She enjoyed naming the bulls because she wasn’t good at remembering freeze brand numbers!

Every summer she supported me at my horse activities. She loved watching me and my friends ride and of course helping with what ever needed done. Mom could talk the ears off all my friends, and other horse show parents. She definitely had the “gift of gab!”

I miss her terribly and I know that it’s something that takes a lot of time to heal. I ache for one more visit with her.

If you are lucky enough to have your Mom, call her and tell her how much you love her. It’s something that sometimes we can take for granted and you never know when God is going to call them home and take that chance away.

I’m going to share some of my favorite pictures of Mom. She loved pictures and sharing them with family and friends and even random people she met in line at the grocery store!

Mom and Zane

Mom and Zane

At a Husker game

At a Husker game

1a

Mom and her mare, Little Red Onion, hooked up to her sleigh

DSC_1414

3

2

She loved riding with me

DSC_0913

Mom and Dad on their wedding day

Mom and Dad on their wedding day

At the Kentucky Derby

At the Kentucky Derby

At the Kentucky Derby

At the Kentucky Derby

At Claiborn Farm in Kentucky

At Claiborn Farm in Kentucky

Secretariat's stall at Claiborne Farm

Secretariat’s stall at Claiborne Farm

10722

Mom and dad and her beloved team of shetland ponies

Mom and dad and her beloved team of shetland ponies

19

River City Roundup in Omaha

29

One of the racehorses they raised, Legal Night

103

Family picture, a golden oldie

31

11036

21

The stable at AkSarBen and her racehorse, Policy Ryder

Always love you Mom, miss you bunches.

Always love you Mom, miss you bunches.

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to For My Mom

  1. Joni says:

    Meghan, what a beautiful tribute you wrote to your mom. She was obviously a great lady who raised an AWESOME daughter.

  2. Becca Moss says:

    Meghan, our thoughts and prayers have been with you and yours. The happiest memories will give you strength. I hear my dad’s laugh daily and know he watches. .. especially our boys from his lofty perch. So will your mom. Your tribute is beautiful.God bless

  3. Amy says:

    Beautiful. I am truly sorry for your loss. Tana also told me, you are the horseman you are today because of your Mom’s dedication to you, the horses and all the horseshows. You will continue to be in my prayers. Hugs to little man.

  4. Hey lady! I am glad you were able to make this for your mama. I am sure this was tough but you did an excellent job! I didn’t know your mom well but I sure enjoyed her when we talked. Hang in there.

  5. Cindy Ference says:

    Meghan- I lost my mom one day just out of the blue. I know exactly how you feel when you just want to talk to her one more time. I always wished I had her voice recorded somehow. My kids miss both their grandmas, and Bill and I are both without our moms- it sucks but knowing she is watching down over you, Troy, and Zane is a comfort.

  6. Tiffany says:

    Brings tears to my eyes. So proud of you for doing this. What a great tribute Meghan.

  7. Robyn says:

    Meghan,
    I am very sorry to hear about the sudden loss of your Mom. This was a wonderful tribute to her and I hope it helped in your healing process. Prayers to you and your family.

  8. Seasonsgirl says:

    Meghan,
    My deepest sympathies for your loss. Thank you for sharing this and I pray you will find peace in your words. Your mother seems like a wonderful person from you writing. I talk to my mom too many times a day and I know it would be a great hole if I could not. I will continue to pray for you and your family.

  9. Barb j says:

    Meghan,
    I extend my deepest sympathy in the loss of your mom. I lost my dad when I was 9 mos old and my mom died 20 years ago. It is so hard to lose a parent, but you have so many special memories that will help you in the days ahead and help your son remember grandma. He is lucky to have her love for as long as he did. She is with you every moment , but I know had badly you miss her. I know god is with you and hope he wraps you in his arms and comforts you. My thoughts and prayers are with your whole family.

Leave a Reply

