Happy Thanksgiving

20131128-104749.jpg

20131128-104815.jpg

20131128-104614.jpg

Moving heifers on a chilly, windy November morning.

Ah Thanksgiving. A time to be thankful. A time to gather round the table with family and friends and eat turkey (eh BEEF). A time for Facebook and Twitter feeds to be crowded with the November 30 days of thankfulness.

I give thanks year round. Sunday mornings in Church remind me of giving thanks when sometimes I get busy and forget throughout the year.

There are many things I’m thankful for, especially this time of year, is time spent with family and friends. Time to reflect on what the year blessed us with.

A few of the things I give thanks for this year-

*My families health. I was blessed with a healthy baby boy this past January. Can’t believe he’s almost a year old!

*Agriculture. My life revolves around Ag. It’s not something we have to do, but something we get to do. It’s a lifestyle that doesn’t give us vacation and sick days, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything else. After I come home from work, I help Troy with the cows. This time of year I don’t see them other than weekends, but the long summer days allow me to help out a bunch.

*My employer. Ok not the cows, but the one that gives me my day job of visiting Nebraska and northern Kansas’s farmers and ranchers helping them with nutrition and management decisions.

*My horses. I’m blessed with some fabulous horseflesh. From their breeding and ability, to my knowledge and riding skills, it all comes together. I’m always learning when it comes to them, and enjoy riding with my friends.

*My family and friends. You know who you are. Love you all.

*And of course Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior.

There are many more things I’m thankful for, and could go on and on, but have some things to get done on this Thanksgiving morning. Yes the Macys Parade is one of them!!

I leave you with some quick shots of a livestock sale barn. If you’ve never been to a cattle sale, it’s a pretty neat place to be on sale day. Yesterday we sold our bred heifers. The crowd was huge and standing room only. It got pretty wild and was neat to witness. I am very thankful for a hot market and the ability to market cattle in central Nebraska!

20131128-105728.jpg

20131128-105738.jpg

20131128-105751.jpg

20131128-105803.jpg

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

