Throw Back Thursday

20131114-171424.jpg

Ok, so this isn’t exactly a long time ago, but it’s still in the past. 🙂

I had a goal I made myself late last spring. That goal was to run a half marathon toward the end of summer. I was ecstatic to reach my goal by finishing the Nebraska State Fair Bill Seymor Half Marathon! A lot of time, sweat and determination went into my training schedule.

Of course, training for a half couldn’t be complete without the tasty, wholesome nutrition of BEEF! I made sure I ate at least 4oz of lean BEEF everyday I was training. With 10 essential nutrients, how could I go wrong? With the daily doses protein, zinc and iron, it fueled my body so I had plenty of energy and stamina to train. Iron is very important for healthy cardiovascular systems when a person is involved in heavy exercise. And it tastes great! So BEEF was a perfect choice!

Less than eight months after I had my Z man, I ran a half marathon. I am very proud of my accomplishment and that BEEF was involved!

20131114-171344.jpg

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Throw Back Thursday

  1. Interesting I had no idea beef would be such a smart choice for us runners…

    • Thanks for the comments. Yes it is an excellent choice! A very underutilized tool when training. With 10 essential nutrients and such good flavor, a runner can’t go wrong. Visit nebeef.org to learn more about the 29 cuts of lean beef, their nutritional value and how to incorporate beef into a healthy lifestyle. Happy running!

Leave a Reply

