Snow Storm!

Snowy Day

When most of my non farming friends and family are baking and watching movies during a snowstorm, we have livestock to take care of. Taking care of our animals isnt a 9-5 job, its a way of life. The first thing we do before presents are opened Christmas morning  is go break ice and feed. We dont get holidays and weekends off, and I’m sure most of us can say “What’s a vacation?”

But I do have to sneak in a little time for baking cinnamon rolls or cookies during a snow day 🙂

Those chores are extended this time of year because we have are just getting started with our calving. The heifers are due on February 26, but the early ones usually come a few days early. The cows follow, with the first group of AI’d ones due around March 10. Luckily, being in southern Nebraska, we don’t get very many late winter/early spring snow storms. So calving typically is fairly uneventful.

Cutting the netwrap from a bale

Cutting the netwrap from a bale

Unrolling the bale for the cows

Unrolling the bale for the cows

Yum Yum!

Yum Yum!

We do all we can to make the animals comfortable during and after a snowstorm. We make sure the pens are clean and their bellies are full of hay. When their bellies are full, they have extra energy to stay warm.

Patiently waiting for the cow buffet!

Patiently waiting for the cow buffet!

After the snow has stopped, we push snow and bed them down with straw so they don’t have to lay on cold wet ground. The animals are very thankful for the nice straw bed! The straw provides a layer of insulation between the animal and the ground and they stay very warm, even on the coldest of nights.

The group that we bedded down was the heifers getting ready to calve. We also bed the bulls and horses. Yes my horses are spoiled!

Pushing snow so we can put straw down for the cows. They like a nice dry place to lay down.

Pushing snow so we can put straw down for the cows. They like a nice dry place to lay down.

This particular snow storm we got 14-15″ of snow. We are very thankful for the moisture. Now the grass will atleast green up next month! This time of year the snow doesnt hang around very long. The days are getting longer and the temperatures melt the snow fairly fast.

And I will leave you with Nature's colorful palette during the winter!

And I will leave you with Nature’s colorful palette during the winter!

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snow Storm!

  1. Love the sunset and like you we don’t get vacations either on the farm. It is a FULL TIME business and the animals are taken care of before anyone else. Your farm is beautiful from what I’ve seen in the pictures. I’m really enjoying your blog.

  2. Seasonsgirl says:

    I remember the days of animal care… I remember loving to go out in the snow and help out (I was a kid and it made me feel important 🙂 ) I think now it would be differnt, but nice to know you answer to yourself and are doing soemthing you love 🙂 I hope the snow settles down and your animals stay warm 🙂 The sunset is pretty and remind me of my time in NE 🙂

  3. Hello Husher Cowgirl! A name fit for me too…since I am a product of Grant County, SW of Whitman! I am “behind” in my blogging travels. But, I have to get to yours and get to reading and enjoying all your photos and the wonderful Nebraska way of life…Nebraska, The Good Life…as the old highway stateline signs used to say! Thank you for following my blog. What a wonder thing to have had you find me. I will be the lucky one to have you to follow!

  4. Well, my post should have said “Husker” not “Husher”…lol. How to edit this one? Maybe later.

Leave a Reply

