My Festive Novelty Steer

5 years ago my husband surprised me with two longhorn steers for Christmas. Appropriately I named them Herbie Husker and Lil Red. He calls them my novelty ‘cows’ because they are pretty much my pasture ornaments and they don’t really contribute to much on the ranch. Well other than eye candy!

To understand Herbie and Red, you need to realize they are the first at the feed bunks and also hog the winter supplement barrels. They basically are leaders of the cow herd. When we were moving cows the other day, my father in law was driving the tractor with a bale in the back. Of course my novelty’s had their heads in the bale the entire 2 mile trip. Red came up for air with the net wrap twirled around his horns. With the holidays quickly approaching I thought this needed to be shared! Funny Red!

Have a blessed and Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

20121120-134535.jpg

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

