Steak during Pregnancy means a Happy Baby!

Yes you read it right!  Husker Cowgirl is expecting her first baby early January, 2013.  We are very excited about the new addition and starting a family.  One thing I have found is my pregnancy hasn’t really slowed me down much.

I continue to work my full time job, I showed my horse all summer long and help Troy in the evenings.  Last night we needed to doctor a calf and I heeled and stretched it out for Troy.  Granted, I don’t go nearly as fast as I did several months ago but it feels good to be in the saddle. To fuel my growing baby and my energy needs, I make sure beef is a daily part of my menu!

Walking pens on a gorgeous fall afternoon.

Without a doubt, a nutritious, well-balanced eating plan can be one of the greatest gifts you give to your soon-to-be-born baby. Pregnancy is one of the most vital times to practice balanced nutrition. Protein in your foods positively affects the growth of fetal tissue, including the brain. And not all proteins are created equal! The protein in beef helps maintain a healthy metabolism, useful in maintaining healthy weight, building muscle and fueling physical activity. More reason for me to enjoy beef!

Proudly displaying our champion belt buckle at the Nebraska State Fair. This was my final horse show of the season. And yes I am sporting my favorite BEEF t shirt!

Beef is a naturally lean protein and is an excellent part of a balanced diet. All lean beef provides essential nutrients such as zinc, B vitamins, and iron, which are a vital part of a healthy pregnancy. Zinc is essential for physical and mental development, wound healing, and appetite control. Beef is the number one food source of zinc in the American diet.

B vitamins are important for energy production and creating red blood cells.  The importance of B vitamins in pregnant women is well established and beef is an excellent source of B vitamins. Iron assists in making new red blood cells, aids in brain development, and supports the immune system. Iron can be particularly important during pregnancy. Did you know that your child lives off iron stores from you for the first 6 months of life? Iron from red meat is better absorbed in the body than iron from plant sources.  Another important reason I include lean beef in my daily diet!

Releasing balloons after the first touchdown of a Husker game this year!

Calorie for calorie, lean beef is one of the most naturally nutrient-rich power foods, providing 51 percent of daily protein needs and 10 essential vitamins and minerals in only a three-ounce portion. About half of the fatty acids found in beef are monounsaturated, the same heart-healthy kind found in olive oil. With all this in a three-ounce portion, why would I not choose beef?  One of my favorite quotes is beef is nature’s best tasting multi vitamin and I think this explains why!

There is something special about the protein in beef.  My body craves it as does my growing baby. When I have a tasty, wholesome steak for supper at night, it can only mean one thing – that this mom and her growing baby are very happy!

My doctor says to consume an extra 300 calories per day.  An extra 300 calories of beef!! Yes please!!

Nebraska was blessed with some very pretty colors this fall!

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steak during Pregnancy means a Happy Baby!

  1. jheem says:

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

