Working Cattle is a Family Affair!

We are a family owned and operated farm, which means we are the sole employees of our operation.  We don’t rely on others to take care of our animals.  Most of my vacation days from my day job are spent at home working our cattle.  Last week I took a vacation day so we could work cows and get them to summer pasture.  I made sure I had my camera handy so I could take some pictures to share with my readers.

This picture really doesnt have much to do with todays post. But after the rain we had last week a rainbow came out and I had the opportunity to take some pictures. I just wanted to share with my readers!

We do “trade” labor with neighbors.  This means they come help us work cows, and then in return, we help them work their cows.  Its a win-win situation for everyone!

When I say “work cows” this is a term cow people use to describe a day spent deworming, vaccinating and checking the overall health of our animals.  We all pitch in to help when we work cows and calves.  Family is always involved when we work cows.  There are some up and down moments, but at the end of the day it is definitely quality bonding time!

Our neighbor, Joe, brings a group of cows up the alley into the working area.

Troy gives a cow her vaccination.

Our cowherd is worked twice per year.  When they go through the chute, this is the time we also check the teeth on our older girls.  As cows age, their teeth become worn.  If they become too worn, then they have trouble chewing the summer grass or harvested forages during the winter.  In the fall, all our cows get the same routine, but also are pregnancy checked.

Joe loads the tub with cows ready to enter the working area.

Cows are susceptible to many internal and external parasites.  We “drench” our cows when we work them.  This is a term used to give them a certain type of oral dewormer that rids them of internal parasite.  They are also “poured.”  This is a term used to describe an external dewormer that kills external parasites.  Lice, mites, ticks and horn flys are a few of the pesky critters that bother cows!

A cow is poured for external parasites. The pour-on gun is squeezed along her back and the pour-on is absorbed into her skin to keep the external parasites from bothering her.

Everyone working cows that day knows their job, and we all work together to create a quiet, low stress environment for our cows.  They handle much better when the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed.  When the cows are calm, it is safer for them and their handlers.  We all know what our jobs are, and try not to get in each-others way.  It is almost poetry in motion!

My job when we work cows is to run our squeeze chute.  This is what holds the animals still so we can work them.  I also give them their dose of drench.  I’m fairly certain that if I ever had a tapeworm, I don’t have one anymore after a days worth of drenching cows!

I am drenching a cow. I insert the drench gun into the cows mouth, and give it a little squeeze and she swallows her dewormer. They wish it came in apple flavor!

Working cows can be fun and hard work at the same time, but it is very rewarding labor!

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working Cattle is a Family Affair!

  1. Interesting seeing the use of horses for rounding up and working with the cows. Do you have to cover a wide area to bring them in? Are they suckler cows?

    • Lorna,
      We use horses for most everything we do when working the cows. They were turned out in about 200 acres of corn stalks when we gathered them this day. What is a ‘suckler’ cow? I have never heard this term. I’m learning all sorts of stuff following your blog! Thanks for the comments.
      Meghan

Leave a Reply

