Spring has Sprung!

This week the calendar said it was March, but walking outside you would think it would have been late April.  Yes, it is March in Nebraska.  My tulips have bloomed, my yard needs mowed and the junebugs are out!  But I’m not complaining.  The weather has been great!

We had a very busy week.  I am sharing some pictures from the past week.

We burned pastures this week. This is called a controlled pasture burn. More on burning pastures in an upcoming blog post!

Heifers wait on the feed wagon.

Cows graze in the morning sunshine with their calves nearby.

Newborn calf

A cow keeps a watchful eye on her calf

Even calves keep their moms on their toes!

Calves hanging out in the sunshine!

Morning feeding time

Ranch Mascot - Little Red!!

My two longhorns are at the first feeder every morning. They love their cow chow!

Have a great weekend everyone!

About Husker Cowgirl

I am a ranchers wife, regional sales manager for Turnkey Computer Systems feedyard accounting software and an avid Husker fan. I am passionate about agriculture and especially beef cattle. My husband and I do things on our ranch the old fashioned way - using horses. I also enjoy taking my horses to town and competing with them at local, state and national events on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring has Sprung!

  1. Lorna says:

    I love your header photo – I have Angus cattle in mine too at http://irishfarmerette.com. I just read about your blog on farmnwife and love finding new agricultural blogs and the different ways of farming around the world. Wow, the horns on those cattle are long – are they show cattle? Is that why you kept their horns?
    We had a fabulously warm week here in Ireland last week too but getting much chillier this week. Delighted to have found your blog 🙂

    • Thats awesome Lorna!!! I am going to check out your blog. I am constantly learning about this blog stuff.

      Herbie and Red are my “novelty” cows as my husband calls them. They really dont have a purpose other than are pretty to look at. We keep their horns just because of that reason – they are pretty to look at! And when we move the cows, they lead them to where they are going. They are the lead steers. They are really neat animals. They were my Christmas present several years ago. I enjoy they alot.

      Our weather was great also, but its rainy and cooler today. But Im not going to complain because we need the rain.

      Thanks for the kind words! I look forward to reading about you in the future!

      Meghan

  2. Lorna says:

    Hi Meghan

    I think it is lovely to have a couple of animals for whom you don’t have to think about what they are costing you or their profitability. All farms should have some. Great post on the fencing – superb photos, Lorna

Leave a Reply

